Advisory Group

Carlos del RioCarlos del Rio, MD (Co-Chair)
Dr. del Rio is a Distinguished Professor of Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine and Professor of Global Health and Epidemiology at Emory's Rollins School of Public Health. He is the Executive Associate Dean of Emory at Grady, Principal Investigator and Co-Director of the Emory Center for AIDS Research and co-Principal Investigator of the Emory-CDC HIV Clinical Trials Unit and the Emory Vaccine Treatment and Evaluation Unit. A native of Mexico, he was Executive Director of the National AIDS Council of Mexico from 1992 through 1996. He was also a member of the Program Coordinating Board of UNAIDS.  

Dr. del Rio is a member of the Board of Directors of the International AIDS Society-USA and chair of the PEPFAR Scientific Advisory Board. He has also served as board member and chair of HIVMA, board member of the Infectious Diseases Society of America and member of the CDC/HRSA Advisory Committee on HIV, viral Hepatitis and STDs. He is the Chief Section Editor for HIV/AIDS of New England Journal of Medicine's Journal Watch Infectious Diseases, Associate Editor for Clinical Infectious Diseases and member of the editorial board of Journal of AIDS and Global Public Health. He was elected to the National Academy of Medicine (previously the Institute of Medicine) in 2013 and elected as the NAM foreign secretary in 2020.

Nicole LurieNicole Lurie, MD, MSPH (Co-Chair)
Dr. Lurie served as the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services during the Obama administration. She is currently a consultant to the Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Initiatives. In her role at HHS, Dr. Lurie provided leadership in preventing, responding to and recovering from the adverse health effects of public health emergencies and disasters. She had spent previous portions of her career at the University of Minnesota and at RAND, where her focus was on access to and quality of care, health equity, and population health. She has led multiple, successful community-wide initiatives to improve the health of underserved populations.

Dr. Lurie received her bachelor's degree and medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania, where she was the founding graduate fellow of Ware College House. She went on to complete her residency and Master of Science in Public Health as a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholar at the University of California, Los Angeles. During her time at HHS, she served as a mentor to several Penn Clinical Scholars.

Ralph Baric, PhD, Distinguished Professor, Department of Epidemiology, University of North Carolina

Donald Burke, MD, Dean, School of Public Health, UPMC

Arturo Casadevall, MD, PhD, Chair of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Linda Degutis, RN, DrPH, Former Director, CDC National Center for Injury Control and Prevention, Former Executive Director, Defense Health Horizon, Henry M Jackson Foundation, USUHS Preparedness Center

Jeffrey Gold, MD, Chancellor, University of Nebraska Medical Center

Larry Gostin, JD, Director, O’Neill Institute for National & Global Health and Law, Georgetown University

Tom Inglesby, MD, Director, Center for Health Security, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Sharon Inouye, MD, MPH, Director, Aging Brain Center; Milton and Shirley F. Levy Family Chair Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Ashish Jha, MD, MPH, Director, Harvard Global Health Institute

Heidi Larson, PhD, Professor of Anthropology, Risk and Decision Science, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Andrew Pavia, MD, Presidential Professor, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, University of Utah

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH, Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor, Gillings School of Global Public Health, University of North Carolina

Umair Shah, MD, MPH, Executive Director, Harris County Public Health